One-Day Liquid Diet Experience to Relieve Ama

Ama is the accumulated toxins in the body. According to Ayurveda, it developes from partly- or improperly-digested food and emotional items. It clogs various physical and energetic systems in the body. One can visually observe Ama the morning after, say, a milkshake, by observing a white, sometimes sticky coating on the tongue. Last night, I had such a treat and I photographed my tongue yesterday morning.

Screen Shot 2014-01-04 at 10.42.16 AM

Today, my partner and I adhered to a one-day liquid diet. It’s a chance to let the digestive fires process accumulated metabolic by-products. We took a fruit/veggie smooth this morning, blended mung daal for lunch and squash soup for dinner. We drank warm water and tea throughout the day, and also went to the gym (I rode a bike for an hour while reading Ayurveda books and talking on the cell phone with friends).

There were moments during the day (particularly after the gym) where I felt very hungry, but no particular craving for anything. But there was none of my usual grumpiness that went with the hunger, which was nice. It felt somewhat purposeful. When I got home and ate the purified mung daal, it was very fulfilling.

At the end of the day now, I feel great. May have nothing to do with the diet — could have something to do with relaxing all Sunday with my lady and just luxuriating in the restful day. Below is a picture of my tongue from tonight.

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 10.46.52 PM

The lighting is different — but it looks about the same. Maybe a little clearer. My partner’s was super white, though. I will ask my teacher about this during our next phone call. I’ll keep running the experiment tomorrow, when I plan to return to a “regular” day of eating.

Leave a Reply

